Waiting for the Grace of God

It’s like any sizable  church  in the country. Inside are the worshipers praying for divine grace, outside are beggars waiting for the kindness of the former.

A young girl and her grandmother begging outside a church

I asked the young girl if that was her grandmother on the cart and she simply nodded. I asked her if they have eaten yet, she shook her head. I took out the change in my pockets and handed them to her. I proceeded inside the church to take pictures and when I came out she was snacking on a small bag of chips. I wish I could have offered her more than a snack. The realist in me knows there is unlikely a better tomorrow for her, there will be no divine grace.

A young girl and her grandmother begging outside a church

12 thoughts on “Waiting for the Grace of God

  1. If only – the two words I find most difficult to finish. If only what? If only I can give people like her a better future, if only the world is fair, if only there is less corruption, if only we live in a utopia…but then again, we have to stick to reality. And hope there is a greater sense behind all the world’s inequality than what little we could come up with.

    • I wonder if ones such as they even believe in hope anymore. I mean how does one contemplate such a thing amidst so much indifference. Don’t mind me, I’m such a pessimist sometimes.

  2. The photo of the little girl and grandmother just made my jaw drop. Sometimes we live in our comfort and forget how tough life is for others. Thanks for sharing!

    At the same time, thanks for stopping by our blog earlier and liking our post on “Have you been to Kiribati? Wait, where’s that?”. BollyChees in Paris.

  3. “The realist in me knows there is unlikely a better tomorrow for her, there will be no divine grace.”

    Oh the irony.

    That said, I think these were captured all too well. The nuances, not of the plight of the less marginalized, but rather of the socio-religious environment were very well-defined.

  4. The grand daughter’s eyes…hauntingly making eye contact. Hoping? Expecting? Indifferent? She represents millions. Thank you for this reminder.
    (I have clicked your follow button but am not getting email notification or getting it in my reader.) I’ll try again.

  5. Every time I see people like this (street children, old people, babies, handicapped people etc) in the streets or anywhere, I often tell myself that if only I were rich, I’d donate huge sums of money to charities, foundations etc that help these people.

    We usually complain how we don’t have enough or have this and that but we haven’t realized just yet that our problems are nothing compared to what these people have to go through. 😦

    • Everything else become trivial compared to the lack of the most basic necessities of life. Imagine what could be if our collective empathy could be turn into a single positive action.

  6. i’m guilty. sometimes i wish i could do more than take pictures of them or share stories. i wish i have the capacity to take away their hardships, children should have a happy and memorable childhood… ironic that most of these people are outside churches… 😦

  7. Great pictures and writing – very moving. I just got back from North India and so have seen similar! Very moving experience giving bags of clothes to street children and amazed that they have such bright smiles despite their hardships!

Leave a Reply

